Coming with the August 2017 10.7.4 update, instructors will now have the option to hide a Submissions Folder from users’ view. By default, any new folders you create are set to be hidden from users. In order for students to see the folders, you will need to click “Make visible to users”. This will allow instructors to make changes to a folder or to update descriptions without students seeing the item or affecting the existing visibility dates.
Note that any folders marked as Hidden will be set to Draft mode when linked to the Content area of the course. Setting the folder to Published will make the folder visible to all course users who have regular access to the folder.